• +380676007000
  • study@alfamed.com.ua

Kharkiv is the largest city in the eastern part of Ukraine, the administrative center of Kharkiv region. This is the second most populous city in Ukraine; chief scientific, industrial, transport and student center of the country. It was the third largest industrial, scientific and transport center of the Soviet Union after Moscow and Leningrad. In the second half of the 20th century it became the main transport hub of South-Eastern Europe.

The contemporary city was founded around 1654 on the site (within the walls) of an ancient settlement, sometimes identified as the city of the 11th  century Kipchak Sharukan or Hun city of the 5th  century Kharka. It received Magdeburg Law in 1787. In February and May 1918 it was the capital of the Donetsk-KrivoyRogRepublic, in March-April 1918 the capital of the UkrainianSovietRepublic, in March-June 1919, and from December 1919 to June 1934 - the capital of the Ukrainian SSR.

Kharkiv is the capital of Ukrainian students. Here in 1805 the first in Ukraine, the sixth in the Russian Empire and the second in the present territory of Ukraine, University was opened. It also has the largest number of foreign students (12 004 people).

There are 142 research institutes, 45 higher education institutions, which train 230 000 students; 16 museums, the city art gallery, 6 state theaters, 80 libraries. It was awarded the Order of Lenin (4 December 1970) and October Revolution (August 23, 1983), as well as awards of the Council of Europe (29 April 2010).

The local self-government is Kharkiv City Council. In 2012 it was one of the four Ukrainian cities, taking European Football Championship 2012.

The climate in Kharkiv is temperate continental, with moderately mild winters and long, hot, dry summer times.

The average annual temperature is +8.1 ° C,  average wind speed is 3.9 m/s, average annual humidity is 74%.

From Address: To: